Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Black Metal

Mortiis North American Tour Announcement and New Album Release Date

This week gave us a nice treat right in time for Halloween. Mortiis, the inventor of dungeon synth, has announced the dates of the second part of his North American tour and unveiled the cover and the release dates of his upcoming album “Spirit of Rebellion.”

Mortiis has visited North America earlier this year with a 10 date tour that started late March and ended on April 7th with a Los Angeles show at the Lodge Room. According to the artist himself it was an epic run which went much better than expected. And now he is coming back with part two of his Era I shows, so everyone who missed it earlier can finally enjoy the performance or, perhaps, enjoy it once again.

North American Tour 2020:

24 January – The Whiskey Junction, Minneapolis (MN)
25 January –  Reggies, Chicago (IL)
26 January –  Civic Music Hall, Toledo (OH)
27 January – The Masquerade (Purgatory), Atlanta (GA)
28 January –  The Orpheum, Tampa (FL)
30 January –  White Oak Music Hall, Houston (TX)
31 January –  Come and Take it Live!, Austin (TX)
01 February – Gas Monkey Bar & Grill, Dallas (TX)
02 February – The Riot Room, Kansas City (MO)
03 February – Oriental Theatre, Denver (CO)
05 February – Club Red, Meza (AZ)
06 February – Brick by brick, San Diego (CA)
07 February – Catch One (Underground), Los Angeles (CA)
08 February –  DNA Lounge, San Francisco (CA)

The direct support on this tour is the avant-garde black metal band Tomb (Total Occultic Mechanical Blasphemy) with local support TBA.

Earlier this week Mortiis has also announced that his upcoming album “Spirit of Rebellion” – a re-interpreted 2 track long expansion and continuation of the 1994 Era I classic “Ånden som Gjorde Opprør” – will be release on 24th January 2020 via Omnipresence Production / Dead Seed Productions.

“Spirit Of Rebellion” tracklisting:
1. A Dark Horizon
2. Visions of an Ancient Future

The album artwork was created by French visual artist & fantasy illustrator David Thiérrée who is also known for his work with Behemoth, Primordial, Wolves In The Throne Room.

The godfather of dungeon synth comments: “I had to fend off a lot of demons to get to this point. They’ll be back, they always come back, but at least my vision is no longer clouded…When I was working on re-interpreting my old music for the Cold Meat Industry festival in Stockholm almost two years ago, I had no idea that I´d eventually create an (almost) new record, nor that a section of it would be used for my first Dungeon Synth video since 1996. But here we are.”

Check out the recently released video clip for “Visions of an Ancient Future” which gives a taste of things to come for the re-interpreted music of ”Spirit Of Rebellion”:

“Spirit Of Rebellion” will be released in CD, Vinyl and digital format. Pre-orders are available now:


Musician, photographer, writer, gamer, night walker... Originally from Moscow, Russia, but currently dwelling in the nights of Los Angeles, CA.

Click to comment
Relapse 10-4

If you like this post and want to see more, help keep us going!

Sentient 112217
Black Matter Mastering

You May Also Like


2017 came to a close with Dawn Ray’d’s The Unlawful Assembly ending up on a truckload of year-end lists. The album certainly deserved all...


Usually metalheads sell out – either when they make it big, or when they don’t make it at all and have to get a...

Black Metal

What happens when Black metal walks into a bar and sees the Deathrock of its dreams? They make a baby called Hexenbrett – and...

Black Metal

What does Black Metal mean to me? It’s a musical form of expression that that has the power to destroy and heal. At times...